Home > Tech > Firefox Open PDF with PDF Plugin

Firefox Open PDF with PDF Plugin

FireFox 1.5Suddenly, after upgrading to FireFox 1.5.0.5, the PDF file can be directly view within the browser anymore. Yes, I do have the PDF Download extension installed. I was trying very hard to solve it. I did find the solution. Here we go, (Note: this assumes you have the PDF Download extesion, but, it should work even without it), two options:

  • Make sure your PDF plugin file is the latest one comes along with your Adobe Acrobat Reader installation.
    1. Close your FireFox completely.
    2. Copy the Acrobat Reader plugin dll file to your FireFox plugin directory. For example, in Windows XP with Acrobat Reader 7.0.8, copy “C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\Browser\nppdf32.dll” to “C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugins\”. If you cannot find nppdf32.dll file at all, you need to try next option first followed by this option again.
    3. Open FireFox and give it a try. If still not working, try next options.
  • Reconfigure your Acrobat Reader (e.g. 7.0.8)
    1. Close your FireFox completely.
    2. Open Acrobat Reader.
    3. Go to “Edit”, “Preferences”.
    4. Click “Internet” in the left side “Categories”.
    5. Tick “Display PDF in browser”
    6. Close the Acrobat Reader. This may bring up some Acrobat Reader installation window to reconfigure its stuff.
    7. Open FireFox and give it a try. It should work

My observation for the second option is, toggle the option “Display PDF in browser” will cause the nppdf32.dll be recreated (if ticked) or removed (if un-ticked).

Good luck!

Categories: Tech
  1. July 17, 2013 at 8:40 am

    Have a grey hair touch up pen massage Inject things into
    your face? It happens to the grey hair touch up pen
    best of our ability where we are seeing nothing slowing down the flow of traffic in the ER.

  2. July 20, 2013 at 10:30 am

    More whitening was applied to her face grey hair 36 and neck.

  3. August 1, 2013 at 4:50 am

    You’ve made some decent points there. I checked on the web to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

  4. August 8, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    I’m not sure exactly why but this website is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll
    check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  5. August 10, 2013 at 12:37 am

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you may be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark
    your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage one to continue your great work, have a nice morning!

  6. September 16, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will make sure tto bookmark it annd return tto rad more of your
    useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I woll definitely comeback.

  7. May 4, 2014 at 4:35 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m lookking ijto starting my own blog and wass curious
    what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming hqving a blog like yours would cost
    a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any tips or advice would be greaztly appreciated.
    Cheers

  8. June 19, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Good site you have here.. It’s hard to find good quality writing like yours nowadays.
    I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  9. June 25, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    What’s up to all, the contents existing at this web page
    are really remarkable for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  10. November 21, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Very good info. Lucky me I ran across your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have book marked it for later!

  11. July 18, 2015 at 2:10 pm

    Actually when someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other
    visitors that they will assist, so here it occurs.

  12. March 5, 2016 at 12:59 pm

    Thanks very much for give these facts. This can be the smart choice to keep things interesting

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

